The Choreomundus Consortium

See below.

At the time of publication the Choreomundus Consortium consists of the following four European universities:

Université Clermont Auvergne (UCA), Clermont-Ferrand, France (University of Clermont Auvergne), coordinator

Norges teknisk-naturvitenskapelige universitet (NTNU), Trondheim, Norway (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)

University of Roehampton London (UR), United Kingdom

Szegedi Tudomanyegyetem (SZTE), Szeged, Hungary (University of Szeged)

Students study at all four partner institutions, spending a full year in one, one complete semester in another, and an intensive period of study in the third and fourth (see mobility paths). This allows for the acquisition of a wide range of theoretical approaches and methodologies, as well as knowledge of a variety of cultural and geographical areas. As an integrated joint European programme, Choreomundus students will be awarded a fully Joint Master Degree from all four institutions with a single diploma parchment. Each University takes full responsibility for the whole programme and not just the section it delivers.

All four partner institutions lead established Masters programmes in Dance Studies, the Anthropology of Dance and/or Ethnochoreology, and when appropriate, Choreomundus students are integrated with local students, helping the former to mix with local communities. In each institution a course in the the local language is offered to help students with local integration.

The Universities Integrating the Consortium

UCA, the coordinating institution, established a Masters programme in  the Anthropology of Dance in 2000, which became the Master spécialité recherche et professionnelle Ethnomusicologie et Anthropologie de la Danse and has been re-validated as Mention Civilisations, cultures et sociétés Parcours “La danse comme objet anthropologique” in 2017.
For Student Services at UCA click here.

NTNU coordinates a Nordic Master of Arts in Dance studies (NO-MA-DS), a programme also known as the Nordic Master’s in Dance Studies (No-Ma-ds) established in 2000. It is a collaboration between NTNU, Stockholm University (SU), Helsinki University (TU), Finland.
For information about Life and Housing at NTNU click here.

At UR the MA in Dance Anthropology was established in 2004 and revalidated in 2015.
For information on Student Support at UR click here.

At SZTE the Master in Dance Anthropology and Ethnochoreology began in September 2010.
For student services at SZTE click here.

This conglomerate of European universities brings together a unique combination of expertise in theoretical and methodological approaches, geographical areas and dance genres. The complementarity in knowledge on dance and dance heritage in Europe (NTNU & SZTE), Africa and Central Asia (UCA), Asia and Europe (UR) is worth noting,  as is the focus on a variety of human movement systems (art, social, folk, ritual, etc.). The programme is committed to both movement and contextual analyses and Choreomundus students will acquire expertise in both. They will be taught by a faculty of world experts in their disciplines, demonstrating the European as well as the broader international dimensions of the field.